SECO International has recognized the following leaders in optometry and their significant contributions to the profession: Pete Smith, OD, of Greer, SC, received the 2019 Optometrist of the South Award; Melanie Jenkins, CPO, of Spring Hill, TN, received the 2019 Paraoptometric of the South Award; The 2019 Young Optometrist of the South Award was presented to Kayla Campbell, OD, of Barboursville, WV; The 2019 Distinguished Service Award was presented to Catherine Amos, OD, FAAO, of Hoover, AL; and lastly, the Southern Council of Optometrists honored Jerald Combs, OD, of Martin, KY, with the 2019 President’s Award in recognition of his dedicated years and outstanding advancements to the profession of optometry.

“The ophthalmic profession is strengthened by individual contributions of knowledge, leadership, advocacy and service,” said Emilio Balius, OD, president of SECO International. “Each year, SECO takes the opportunity to celebrate those who are going above and beyond in their efforts to serve.”


Leave A Reply